Application running in background

General topics about the Android-Platform itself.
Coding issues please to the subforum right below.

Application running in background

Postby myazuid » Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:03 pm

Hello,

First post here! But I've been following the forums for some time now, in preparation for my final year project, for which I am going to create an Android application.

It is related to the call log. What I was wondering is whether its possible to have a program running permanently in the background which can have the ability to detect changes in the call log, performing certain chunks of code when it does so.

If this is possible, can anyone tell me whether this would slow down the phone notice-ably? Its only brief code each time, no more than 20 lines or so.

Thanks in advance for any responses.

p.s. wasn't sure if this is the right forum category, but couldn't see one that was toooo relevant (apologies if its in the wrong place)
Image
myazuid
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 6:01 pm
Location: London, England

Top

Postby MrSnowflake » Mon Mar 02, 2009 9:57 am

Services allow you to do stuff in the background. I'm not sure though if this is what you want to use for monitoring call log changes.
User avatar
MrSnowflake
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1439
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:11 pm
Location: Flanders, Belgium

Postby kali » Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:11 pm

hai friend
i have same problem
i want to track or keep record of in comming calls,miss call,incoming message,outgoing message
please help!!!!
kali
Experienced Developer
Experienced Developer
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 1:31 pm

Postby WarrenFaith » Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:22 pm

MrSnowflake is right. Services with a ContentObserver should be able to get notified if something change on the call log.
WarrenFaith
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 10:59 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Postby kali » Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:28 pm

thanks friend
another question
i want to keep record it in a file that is main problem
how can i put it in a file??
thanks in advance
kali
Experienced Developer
Experienced Developer
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 1:31 pm

Top

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 5 guests