Android with Eclipse Plugin

General topics about the Android-Platform itself.
Coding issues please to the subforum right below.

Android with Eclipse Plugin

Postby namsir » Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:42 am

Hello everyone,

Im wonder if i download the right applications or not. I now have Eclipse IDE for Java EE Developers (163 MB). And Android windows platform. I try to run install update android on Eclipse interface and got this

No repository found at https://dl-ssl.google.com/android/eclipse/


Anyone know how to fix this?
namsir
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:21 pm

Top

Postby BlackDragon » Fri Nov 14, 2008 1:13 pm

Hello.

Try the following url for the non-ssl connection, it resolves the problem for me.

http://dl-ssl.google.com/android/eclipse/

Greets

BlackDragon
BlackDragon
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:52 am
Location: Germany

Postby namsir » Fri Nov 14, 2008 1:19 pm

Thanks alot Dragon, i'll have to try and see if that's going to work. What version of Eclipse that everyone in here using? is it just Java or JEE ?
namsir
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:21 pm

Postby MrSnowflake » Fri Nov 14, 2008 1:57 pm

Doesn't really mather which 'version' us use, as long it has some java support. The Java EE plugins can be downloaded using Help->Software Updates...
User avatar
MrSnowflake
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1439
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:11 pm
Location: Flanders, Belgium

Postby namsir » Fri Nov 14, 2008 2:05 pm

Thank you mrSnowflake :)
I guess i'll be fine using Eclipse JEE Ganymede sr1 win32.

But i still have the problem with the

http://dl-ssl.google.com/android/eclipse/

or


https://dl-ssl.google.com/android/eclipse/

I try to install Eclipse and Android plugins at work and still have the same problem "No repository found ...."


:(
namsir
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:21 pm

Postby BlackDragon » Fri Nov 14, 2008 4:11 pm

Hi.

Maybe no solution, but I got the same error and if I tried again, it works.

At the moment it works with eclipse 3.4 for linux under KUbuntu 8.10.
(Ready with installing at the moment :D )

But under windows xp sp3 i got it running also. (Windows is my favourite, but I also wanted to try it on Linux :P )

I tried the same url i wrote in my last post. Just play around and try again. :?

Maybe anyone other has a solution for this problem.

Greetz

BlackDragon



[EDIT]

Try to download ADT manually. Visit http://code.google.com/android/intro/installing.html or get it here.
......................................................................................................................................................................................

Troubleshooting ADT Installation

If you are having trouble downloading the ADT plugin after following the steps above, here are some suggestions:

* In Step 4, try changing the remote update site URL to use http, rather than https.
* If you are behind a firewall (such as a corporate firewall), make sure that you have properly configured your proxy settings in Eclipse. In Eclipse 3.3/3.4, you can configure proxy information from the main Eclipse menu in Window (on Mac, Eclipse) > Preferences > General > Network Connections.

If you are still unable to use Eclipse to download the ADT plugin, follow these steps to download and install the plugin from your computer:

1. Download the ADT zip file (do not unpack it).

2. Follow steps 1 and 2 in the default install instructions (above).
3. In Eclipse 3.3, click New Archive Site....
In Eclipse 3.4, click Add Site..., then Archive...
4. Browse and select the downloaded the zip file.
5. Follow the remaining procedures, above, starting from steps 5.

Note that to update your plugin, you will have to follow these steps again instead of the default update instructions.

Note that the "Android Editors" feature of ADT requires several optional Eclipse components (for example, WST). If you encounter an error when installing ADT, your Eclipse installion might not include those components. For information about how to quickly add the necessary components to your Eclipse installation, see the troubleshooting topic ADT Installation Error: "requires plug-in org.eclipse.wst.sse.ui"
......................................................................................................................................................................................

[/EDIT]
BlackDragon
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:52 am
Location: Germany

Top

Postby namsir » Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:26 pm

COollllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll you are the best Black Dragon......Now i can work on my project while at work. LOL
namsir
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:21 pm

Postby tannerresearch » Wed Jan 07, 2009 7:01 pm

I'm currently using Eclipse version: 3.3.1.1 under Windows XP and have had zero problems. I initially tried using Ganymede, but had some problems in that it was touchy about installing add-ons. I am really impressed with the emulator. It has its expected quirks, but as far as emulators go, it's pretty well-oiled.
User avatar
tannerresearch
Junior Developer
Junior Developer
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:43 pm

Postby Andcoder » Mon Aug 03, 2009 3:16 pm

I had the same issue and finally i came to know that my linux was not pointing to right JVM

http://www.ceveni.com/2009/08/fix-error ... lugin.html

and after installing java ca certificate and pointing it right i am able to install the adt plugin without any hurdles
Andcoder
Freshman
Freshman
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:49 am

Top

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest