Android hardware testing - Which handsets? best options?

General topics about the Android-Platform itself.
Coding issues please to the subforum right below.

Android hardware testing - Which handsets? best options?

Postby mikael_w » Sun Apr 17, 2011 3:39 pm

Hi,

I'm quite new to Android development. I spent a few weeks, doing tutorials and developping simple apps.

Now, I'm focusing on all the test aspects. I have done Junit tests before so I thought it would be OK but now I'm slightly worried about the test coverage required.

First, how to test with hardware with that many different devices?? I though I would just buy one but now I'm not so sure.

There are so many handsets and they are so different! hardware feature missing, different resolutions, different lib version, etc

Have you guys got statistics about which handset sell the best per country? So that we can just buy the 2,3 most representative phones? Is there any developer deals where you buy 3 phones + 1 contract for a reasonable price (I'm in the UK btw).

Also, to go back to emulator tests, is there a way to kind of convert a famous handset into the corresponding AVD? Is there some nice free test infrastructure available that make multi-AVDs, multi-config, multi-projects test easier? Now I know most of the programs such as adb,android,emulator, etc... Still will probably need to write some python scripts which integrate it all..

Anyway, I'm slightly puzzled here so any pointer, any comment about your own android test strategy would be much appreciated!

Thanks in advance

Mikael
mikael_w
Freshman
Freshman

Re: Android hardware testing - Which handsets? best options?

Postby Faded9 » Mon Apr 18, 2011 3:13 pm

I don't think it is necessary to own a small army of test devices, I haven't spoken to any developers that have more than a few, and most only use one. Using AVD you can emulate pretty much any device as far as size, resolution, version, etc go, so owning a ton of them isn't a requirement.