Android books?

General topics about the Android-Platform itself.
Coding issues please to the subforum right below.

Android books?

Postby Zoranor » Sun Jan 24, 2010 12:26 pm

Hi there!
After having spent some time browsing through various tutorials and forums around the net, I've come to the conclusion that if I want to get a more serious start at doing any sort of developing on the Android platform, I'll probably need a book to start with. There are a few of those out there, despite the Android platform being relatively new. I have some programming experience, and I know Java well enough.

Anyone with positive experiences regarding any of those floating around? What with most of them being first edition, the quality can vary quite a bit. The ones I've been looking at are these:
* Android Application Development
* Professional Android Application Development
* Pro Android

I'd love to know any experience you've had regarding any of these books, or any other books on this subject, as I have a hard time deciding :)

Zora
Zoranor
Freshman
Freshman

Postby Davidthefat » Sun Jan 24, 2010 5:07 pm

IDK about books on Android, but IMHO you can learn A LOT by trial and error actually, just try out every function and stuff, and look at the documentation even more.

edit: Im not saying its the cleanest and most efficient way to code, but Its a better process to learn for yourself than reading a book or something, since you actually UNDERSTAND WHY that happens by yourself
Davidthefat
Freshman
Freshman

Postby Draffodx » Tue Jan 26, 2010 1:35 pm

If you read a book properly instead of just following the code in them they can be very beneficial

I have read the following:

Hello Android, Android development by Ed Burnette
Professional Android Application by Reto Meier
Android Wireless Application Development by Shane Condor