What is the best Android Dev book for a beginner?

General Android Books.
Also feel free to comment, improve and contribute to AndBook, the free Android Learners book.

What is the best Android Dev book for a beginner?

Postby Subjective Effect » Sun Apr 10, 2011 9:42 pm

This is a copy of the post I've put up at Xda.

My background: I dabble in HTML, CSS, JavaScript, PHP and mySQL. I've had a go at ASP/VB before too and I've created some pretty large PHP and mySQL applications in the past. But I'm no expert, I've just used what I've needed.

I'm looking to get into making some simple apps for Android and as a result I've bought these books:

Sam's Teach Yourself Java in 24hrs - I've almost read all of it and it all makes sense to me. It was quite easy since much of the syntax is the same as JavaScript's. The only thing I've had to get my head around is classes and object hierarchies, but it wasn't too bad. I stopped at the GUI programming bit since I'll be using XML for Android anyway.

Sam's Teach Yourself Android App Developement in 24hrs.
Hello, Android.

Both of these just don't hold your hand enough. For example, in the Sam's Android book in hour 7 you get told to retrieve an instance of a TextView control in the onCreate() method of the QuizSplashActivity but it doesn't tell you how you do this. The downloadable code came as a shock with a whole new class in the QuizSplashActivity.java, not the way I'd have approached it at all.

So what I'm saying, I guess, is that both these books aren't simple enough for me.

Has anyone got any recommendations for books? I don't like learning from the web, I've read a lot at the google resources and I need a book to take me on a linear journey of what I need.
Subjective Effect
Junior Developer
Junior Developer

Re: What is the best Android Dev book for a beginner?

Postby Openxcell » Mon Apr 11, 2011 8:33 am

Subjective Effect wrote:This is a copy of the post I've put up at Xda.