clearing loaded textures

Tutorials concerning the OpenGL® ES cross-platform API for full-function 2D and 3D graphics on the Google-Android platform.

clearing loaded textures

Postby rHalf » Sun Dec 20, 2009 2:11 am

Hi all, I'm new to all this android development as well as OpenGL.

I was going through some book code which has limited comments on certain aspects of openGL.

It's a cube creation demo and uses a method called

Bitmap bmp =...
GLUtils.texImage2d(GL10.GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, bmp , 0);

It puts that same bitmap on all sides of the cube.

I modified the renderer to now have 2 Cubes and at first they both use the same bitmap as a texture.
I made a call to the loadTexture method with a different resource and now all the sides of the second cube have the new bitmap as their texture.

As far as I can tell this method has a single resource buffer that is almost used like a paint on a paintbrush. Not until you dip it into the second paint (Bitmap) does it paint differently. I was wondering if there was a method to unload that resource or to keep with the analogy wash the paintbrush clean.

Say I wanted to make a third cube with no textures.

I saw some tutorials that talk about some sort of resource id, but in my case there is no id that i can tell of.

Similar but not the same, does anyone know of a tutorial where a cube has different textures on different sides?

Thanks
rHalf
Junior Developer
Junior Developer

Postby rHalf » Mon Dec 21, 2009 7:54 pm

I may have answered my own question. Just required more reading.

I believe you can just add gl.glDisable(GL10.GL_TEXTURE_2D) to turn off texture rendering to surfaces.
rHalf
Junior Developer
Junior Developer

Postby Skywhy » Sun Dec 27, 2009 4:19 pm

That's pretty much it :)

I thought I'd post a fair warning if you are new to OpenGL. The more you change OpenGL's internal states, the slower it behaves (ie. calling methods like gl.disable() or any other methods that change states inside OpenGL).