20-Sided Sphere (Icosahedron)

Tutorials concerning the OpenGL® ES cross-platform API for full-function 2D and 3D graphics on the Google-Android platform.

20-Sided Sphere (Icosahedron)

Postby general_bradley » Wed Feb 24, 2010 8:11 am

While not new to programming (or Java), I'm relatively new to OpenGL programming. I ran into it a bit using JOGL, but never went much beyond basic shapes, with the exception of reading obj files. I tried searching these forums, but didn't find anything in complexity beyond a pyramid.

I've MOSTLY got this working for a starting point, but 8 faces aren't being filled in. I suspected it was probably due to listing some of the vertices in CCW order when CW order is specified. I used different easily identifiable colors to figure out which vertices weren't having the corresponding faces being drawn (each face has vertices of unique color), and simply tried just reversing the order, but the particular face didn't show up.

For example, one of the faces missing has vertices colored: green (3), red (0,9), and white(6,8). The only face that has each of those vertices is the (3,9,8) face, but when changed to (8,9,3) the face still doesn't show (even though it should now be in CW order if it wasn't before).

Code: Select all
      float[] colors = {
         1f, 0f, 0f, 1f,      //red      0   
         1f, 1f, 0f, 1f,      //yellow   1   
         1f, 0f, 1f, 1f,      //pink      2   
         0f, 1f, 0f, 1f,      //green      3
         0f, 1f, 1f, 1f,      //l.blue   4
         0f, 0f, 1f, 1f,      //blue      5
         1f, 1f, 1f, 1f,      //white      6
         1f, 1f, 0f, 1f,      //yellow   7
         1f, 1f, 1f, 1f,      //white      8
         1f, 0f, 0f, 1f,      //red      9
         1f, 1f, 0f, 1f,      //yellow   10
         0f, 0f, 1f, 1f,      //blue      11
      };

//faces - clockwise
      short[] indices = new short[] {
          1,  2,  6,   //
          1,  7,  2,   //
          3,  4,  5,   //