SurfaceView FPS Issue

Problems with Canvas, OpenGL, etc...

SurfaceView FPS Issue

Postby serious7 » Sun May 22, 2011 3:27 pm

Hi,

I am new to the android world (new to any mobile platform to be specific). I have a problem with SurfaceView. I have a thread set up as my game loop which locks the canvas, prints out a black screen and the current fps, and prints out a red screen in case the fps goes below 25. The thread then unlocks and posts this.

Syntax: [ Download ] [ Hide ]
Using java Syntax Highlighting
  1.  public void run() {
  3.              //UPDATE
  4.              while (mRun) {
  6.              Canvas c = null;
  7.              try {
  8.                    c = mHolder.lockCanvas(null);
  9.                    synchronized (mHolder) {
  10.                         mPanel.doDraw(mElapsed, c);            
  11.                    }
  12.              } finally {
  14.                  if (c != null) {
  15.                          mHolder.unlockCanvasAndPost(c);                   
  16.                  }
  18.              mElapsed = System.currentTimeMillis() - mStartTime;
  19.              mStartTime = System.currentTimeMillis();
  21.              }
Parsed in 0.033 seconds, using GeSHi 1.0.8.4

I have a sony x10 and just outputing a "black screen" gives me an fps of 33 solid. The issue is why is the canvas SO slow because all it does is output a black screen?

My second question (which is a more serious one), the fps "jumps" down to 15 every 3-5 seconds on my x10 with just that code. This is a very bad performance issue because as I work on my app, there will be constant quirks of lag later. When I ran this code on motorola atrix, the fps was solid 60 and the fps only jumped below 25 fps every 20 seconds. That phone is obviouslly a faster phone, but I don't get it. Why is the FPS jumping like that? My ultimate goal is to make a 2-d game.
serious7
Freshman
Freshman

Re: SurfaceView FPS Issue

Postby Sweep88 » Mon May 23, 2011 2:05 pm