Game framework

Problems with Canvas, OpenGL, etc...

Game framework

Postby Defero » Wed Dec 07, 2011 3:07 am

Hi,

so i have been searching for an answer for a while now, but no luck.
I'm new to this and i'm wondering is there an elegant way to do different screens in code.

Ive seen examples where they create a new Intent and then start the activity from a class which divides the code quite nicely.

So you can start the "options" screen activity or "about" or "start"...
I have i problem that i want for all this screens to be animated, menu too, where i use a thread.

The question is, is there a nice way to divide this now or do i have to use a switch statement in the thread and switch there what is drawn?

Thank you for all your help in advance.
Defero
Once Poster
Once Poster

Re: Game framework

Postby MichaelEGR » Wed Dec 07, 2011 9:41 pm

Defero wrote:Ive seen examples where they create a new Intent and then start the activity from a class which divides the code quite nicely.

This is known as the dashboard UI pattern. The Facebook, Yelp, and many apps use this pattern. Sure it can be used for a game, but consider that separating your app this way and hard locking things to the Activity lifecycle could make it harder to port it to other platforms. But don't let cross-platform concerns stop you now since it sounds like your just getting started and you'll be working with Android for a bit.

Defero wrote:So you can start the "options" screen activity or "about" or "start"...
I have i problem that i want for all this screens to be animated, menu too, where i use a thread.
The question is, is there a nice way to divide this now or do i have to use a switch statement in the thread and switch there what is drawn?